My Games
New Games
Top Games

Batman: Arkham Origins Includes Permadeath ‘I Am The Night’ Mode

Posted on September 30, 2013 AT 02:07am

UPDATE: Eric Holmes, Creative Director at Warner Bros. Montreal, has since confirmed that players will be able to save in “I am the Night” mode.

ORIGINAL: Batman: Arkham Origins will include an extra hard mode, which is unlocked upon completing the main game and New Game Plus mode, according to producer Guillaume Voghel.

I am the Night mode will be locked until both the normal game and New Game Plus are completed. Voghel explained to Eurogamer that players will not be able to save and only have one life.

“The main narrative arc and side missions last about 12 hours,” he stated, “and then you have all the collectibles. To get 100 per cent of that will take much, much longer. We have a new difficulty level, New Game Plus is coming pack – that’s really difficult – and when you’re done with that there’s I Am The Night mode – which is no saves and one life.”

Batman: Arkham Origins is set to release October 25 for Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, Wii U, and PC.

Source: Eurogamer

Matthew Bennett, Associate Editor
Matthew Bennett finally got his big break with EGM three years ago, following years of volunteer work for various sites. An ability to go many hours without sleep and a quick wit make him ideal for his role as associate editor at He often thinks back to the days when the very idea of this career seemed like nothing but an impossible dream. Follow him on Twitter @mattyjb89. Meet the rest of the crew.

Partner Pages


8840 Wilshire Blvd.,
Third Floor,
Beverly Hills, CA 90211

© 2014 EGM Media LLC. All rights reserved. Trademarks belong to their respective owners.
Website Interface © 2012 EGM Digital Media, LLC.