My Games
New Games
Top Games

BioWare details Dragon Age: Inquisition’s character classes

Posted on April 25, 2014 AT 03:56am

BioWare has shared a few details about Dragon Age: Inquisition‘s three main character classes and their specializations.

There are three basic classes in the game, Warrior, Mage, and Rogue, and each of these has advanced classes that can be accessed as you level. “As part of creating your Inquisitor, you will be able to choose between three distinct classes. Each comes with a unique set of abilities, weaponry, special moves, and even class-reactive story content,” the developer wrote on the game’s official website. “Further, as your Inquisitor grows in power, you will be able to select a specialization.”

Warriors are “battle-hardened and masters of close combat.” They run the front lines absorbing attacks, distracting enemies, and setting up ranged attacks from allies. The warrior has three specializations available, but so far only one has been unveiled, Champion. “Champions are defenders and protectors, and when a warrior trains in the champion’s tradition, he or she becomes unstoppable, BioWare explains. “Champions use their armor, weapon and awareness to shrug off incoming attacks while holding critical positions on the battlefield and protecting allies in the process.”

The mage can “tap into the raw energy of the Fade and block the whispering temptations of demons.” This class has access to rains of fire, walls of ice, and the ability to heal allies, as well as this, the mage can weaken foes to make them vulnerable to allies’ attacks. The one mage specialization revealed so far is the Knight Enchanter: “Wrapped in protective magics and wielding blades of arcane force, the Knight Enchanters are rare, but inspiring sights as they lead the charge into enemy ranks.”

Finally, there’s the rogue, who are deadly and resourceful, and can tip the balance of any battle, with access to bows, daggers, and a number of dirty tricks. The rogue can specialize as an Artificer: “Intricate mechanisms are the core of the artificer’s craft: Deadly traps; Distracting contraptions; Marvels of engineering turned to deadly purpose.”

You can find more details of these classes over on the game’s official website here.

Dragon Age: Inquisition is set to launch October 7 for PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360, Xbox One, and PC.

Matthew Bennett, Associate Editor
Matthew Bennett finally got his big break with EGM three years ago, following years of volunteer work for various sites. An ability to go many hours without sleep and a quick wit make him ideal for his role as associate editor at EGMNOW.com. He often thinks back to the days when the very idea of this career seemed like nothing but an impossible dream. Follow him on Twitter @mattyjb89. Meet the rest of the crew.

Partner Pages


8840 Wilshire Blvd.,
Third Floor,
Beverly Hills, CA 90211

© 2015 EGM Media LLC. All rights reserved. Trademarks belong to their respective owners.
Website Interface © 2012 EGM Digital Media, LLC.