My Games
New Games
Top Games

Bungie shares a few details about Destiny’s raids

Posted on September 3, 2014 AT 05:13am

Bungie’s design lead Luke Smith has shared a few details about Destiny‘s six-player raids.

To start with Smith addressed how to access these top-tier content raids. Basically all six players in the raid must work together to actually open the door to the raid itself, before they can even begin to tackle its contents. There are no waypoints or any in-game help to explain how exactly the raid is opened, players must figure it out themselves.

“For the majority of Raid encounters, you’re going to need to work as a group. That group of six is trying to form a metaphorical key which opens a given encounter’s lock” Smith said. “By design, we don’t provide much in the way of information to groups in Raids. There aren’t waypoints to follow, or objectives explaining what to do in a given situation. Realistically, for many players, they’ll be turning to the Internet for help on how to do a bunch of the Raid.

“There’s an old Bungie quote about not wanting players to go to the Internet to figure out solutions. That quote certainly wasn’t about Raiding in Destiny.”

Smith then went on to address the difficulty of Destiny‘s raid content. Back in March, Bungie invited 24 people to test out Destiny’s raid content. “They are a group of people used to working together primarily in competitive multiplayer games, and hadn’t been exposed to an experience like this before,” Smith explained.

No help was offered to the four teams of six in the two days they spent playing. By the end of the test two groups had made it to the final boss, but didn’t beat it, one group made it to the final boss, but had to skip a previous one, and one group ended up giving up and going back to other, easier, content.

Destiny’s raids are available in two difficulty modes: Normal and Hard. “Normal mode is about learning the mechanics, working together as a team and building strategies to overcome the encounters” said Smith. “Hard modes demand execution.

“In addition to deadlier combatants, tighter tuning windows for encounter mechanics and a handful of targeted differences, Hard-mode encounters leverage an even harsher death penalty than the Normal modes.”

Now you’re probably wondering why you should even bother attempting these raids in the first place. Well, Destiny‘s raids offer a complete set of gear for each class across the two difficulty modes, and Legendary weapons for each of nine weapon archetypes (Auto Rifle, Hand Cannon, Pulse Rifle, Fusion Rifle, HMG, Rocket Launcher, Sniper Rifle, Shotgun and Scout Rifle). All of these are completely unique to raids.

“And of course, there are more rewards behind the Vault’s door that we won’t detail today,” Smith added.

Destiny is set to launch September 9 on PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360, and Xbox One.

Matthew Bennett, Associate Editor
Matthew Bennett finally got his big break with EGM three years ago, following years of volunteer work for various sites. An ability to go many hours without sleep and a quick wit make him ideal for his role as associate editor at He often thinks back to the days when the very idea of this career seemed like nothing but an impossible dream. Follow him on Twitter @mattyjb89. Meet the rest of the crew.

Partner Pages


8840 Wilshire Blvd.,
Third Floor,
Beverly Hills, CA 90211

© 2015 EGM Media LLC. All rights reserved. Trademarks belong to their respective owners.
Website Interface © 2012 EGM Digital Media, LLC.