My Games
New Games
Top Games

GDC Awards to honor Feminist Frequency creator and Riot Games founders

Posted on February 12, 2014 AT 12:30pm

The 14th Annual Game Developers Choice Awards have announced who will be receiving this year’s Ambassador and Pioneer Awards at the awards show in March.

The Ambassador Award is given to someone who has helped videogames advance through advocacy or action. This year’s recipient is media critic Anita Sarkeesian, the creator of Feminist Frequency, a video series that explores representations of women in pop culture, with a particular focus on gaming.

The Pioneer Award is given to those who brought about breakthrough tech or gameplay design milestones. This year’s recipients are Brandon Beck and Marc Merrill, the co-founders of Riot Games, the company behind League of Legends. With more than 67 million players a month and a driving force behind the growth of eSports, League of Legends has become a phenomenon like few others in the gaming industry.

The Game Developers Choice Awards, hosted this year by Respawn Entertainment’s Abbie Heppe, are a part of the Game Developers Conference held each year in San Francisco. This year’s show will take place March 19, 2014, at 6:30 p.m. PT at the San Francisco Moscone Center. The awards are open to all GDC attendees. Immediately preceding the show is the Independent Games Festival Awards, hosted this year by Nathan Vella, president and co-founder of Capybara Games.

Ray Carsillo, Reviews Editor
Ray Carsillo has extensive roots in geek culture, as he’s written about videogames, comics, and movies for such outlets as,, Classic Game Room on YouTube,, and before finally settling into his role as EGM’s reviews editor. His main goal in life? To become king of all geek media, of course! Follow Ray’s exploits on Twitter: @RayCarsillo. Meet the rest of the crew.

Partner Pages


8840 Wilshire Blvd.,
Third Floor,
Beverly Hills, CA 90211

© 2014 EGM Media LLC. All rights reserved. Trademarks belong to their respective owners.
Website Interface © 2012 EGM Digital Media, LLC.