My Games
New Games
Top Games

New details, screenshots for Dragon Quest X

Posted on September 29, 2011 AT 01:44pm

THE BUZZ: Today, Square Enix revealed some new details about the upcoming pseudo-MMO Dragon Quest X. Six job classes were announced: Warrior, Mage, Monk, Martial Artist, Thief, and Minstrel. Jobs can be changed at locations called the Dharma’s Shrine Branch Office in towns, versus the traditional Dharma’s Shrine from other games.

Also announced is that the game will have a Skill Point system very similar to Dragon Quest IX. In that game, you attributed earned points to different weapon types, and then unlocked new abilities and tactics at certain levels for each. Through this, you can have characters specialize in certain weapons, or gain an array of lower-level abilities by putting in time to as many different types as possible.

EGM’s TAKE: Nothing too surprising so far in the way of jobs. I wonder if we’ll get anything new to the Dragon Quest series announced later class-wise, or if Square Enix is going to play it safe.

Source: Andriasang

Eric L. Patterson, Executive Editor
Eric L. Patterson got started via self-publishing game-related fanzines in junior high, and now has one goal in life: making sure EGM has as much coverage of niche Japanese games as can realistically be crammed in. Eric’s also active in the gaming community on a personal level, being an outspoken voice on topics such as equality in gaming and consumer rights. Stalk Eric on Twitter: @Eric_EGM. Meet the rest of the crew.

Partner Pages


8840 Wilshire Blvd.,
Third Floor,
Beverly Hills, CA 90211

© 2015 EGM Media LLC. All rights reserved. Trademarks belong to their respective owners.
Website Interface © 2012 EGM Digital Media, LLC.