Sony Worldwide Studios president Shuhei Yoshida has revealed that the PlayStation 4’s share button will not be a universal application and can be blocked by developers if they wish to do so.
“There will be parts of a game that the maker does not want people to be able to see,” he said. “For example, on Vita, developers can in certain scenes disable the feature that lets users take a screenshot, and [the Share function] will have a similar mechanism.
“The creator may not want to make video of the final boss sharable, for instance.”
While the idea makes a lot of sense to avoid spoilers spilling out across the Internet, it could pose some issues for players who wish to use the new feature for easy livestreaming.