The new Share Play feature coming with PlayStation 4’s 2.0 system software update will limit players to 60-minute sessions, Sony has confirmed.
However, although sessions are limited to 60 minutes, there’s no limit to how many sessions you and a friend can have. So once the 60 minutes are up you can just reinvite your friend to continue playing. Presumably this limitation has been applied to prevent people from leaving their consoles on all day so a friend can play while they are out.
For those unaware, Share Play will allow another PlayStation Plus member to take control of your game even if they don’t own it—a video of what is being shown on your screen will be streamed to a friend so they can play. With this feature, players will also be able to invite PS Plus members on their friends list who don’t own the game to come and play local multiplayer with them.
Share Play will be added with PlayStation 4’s 2.0 update, which is due to release later this year.