My Games
New Games
Top Games

Sonic: Lost World DLC ‘Yoshi’s Island Zone’ Now Available for Free on Wii U eShop

Posted on December 18, 2013 AT 11:46am

Sonic: Lost World will receive two additional DLC stages based around existing Nintendo properties, global president Satoru Iwata announced this morning during his Nintendo Direct presentation.

The first new stage, which is now available for download free, is based on the upcoming 3DS platformer Yoshi’s New Island. Appropriately titled “Yoshi’s Island Zone,” the stage is decked out in a Yoshi-themed aesthetic and sees Sonic “speeding through areas filled with pipes, coins, Shy Guys, and Piranha Plants.”

Iwata expressed disappointment that he couldn’t reveal the second DLC stage, but promised Sonic: Lost World fans would be able to get their hands on the DLC “early next year” and offered a teaser image that contained a hidden triforce (and heavily emphasized the word “link” in his statement). Take from that what you will.

The DLC stages will only be available for the Wii U version of Sonic: Lost World. Yoshi’s Island Zone can be grabbed now from the Wii U eShop.

Chris Holzworth, News Editor
Chris Holzworth has wanted to write about games all his life. He first cut his teeth writing for enthusiast sites such as RPGFan, and after writing for just about every other enthusiast website he could came across, wound up as EGM's east coast news correspondent (read: editorial intern) before relocating to LA to serve as news editor. You can follow his rants about storytelling on Twitter @manadrive.[Meet the rest of the crew]

Partner Pages


8840 Wilshire Blvd.,
Third Floor,
Beverly Hills, CA 90211

© 2015 EGM Media LLC. All rights reserved. Trademarks belong to their respective owners.
Website Interface © 2012 EGM Digital Media, LLC.