BioWare has successfully completed Star Wars: The Old Republic’s second round of server merges, closing all the locked servers from last time and reducing the overall number of live servers.
If you’re interested in seeing which server yours has merged to then you can find more details here. The tech is being implemented to prepare the servers for the influx of new players that is certain to come once the game goes free-to-play this fall.
“By centralizing our player populations on these higher population destination servers, we feel that we can offer our players the best possible Star Wars: The Old Republic experience,” BioWare wrote on the SWTOR website.
The servers were taken down yesterday for around 10 hours and when they came back up fans were greeted by a brand new server list and much higher population caps. There was one downside to this merger and that was that some players lost their character names. According to BioWare if two people had the same name then a matrix decided which player got to keep it and which had to change, this has left some players very angry about losing names that they have had since launch.
At the end of the day though it’s just a name and sure it’s understandable to be little disgruntled, but the majority of players got to keep their important character names so it should all die down soon. I only lost one of my character names in the merge and that was on a level 30 that I never play so I’m pretty happy.
Did you lose any important names? Let us know in the comments below.