My Games
New Games
Top Games

Release Date: N/A

  • 110
  • 1
  • Previews
  • Features
  • 23
  • Images
  • Podcasts
  • Other
  • More
  • 473

The Last of Us wins top prize at Game Developers Choice Awards

Posted on March 20, 2014 AT 04:06am

Naughty Dog has secured yet another top honor by winning Game of the Year with The Last of Us at the 14th annual Game Developers Choice Awards.

At the awards show, hosted this year by Respawn Entertainment community manager Abbie Heppe, The Last of Us took home three awards (Game of the Year, Best Narrative, and Best Game Design), indie hit Papers, Please received two awards (Innovation Award and best Downloadable Game), and Bioshock Infinite also scooped two awards (Best Visual Art and Best Audio). Other winners included The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds, Kerbal Space Program, and Grand Theft Auto V.

“There were so many amazing and diverse games this year, ranging from the massive world of Grand Theft Auto V, to the heartbreaking and visceral game The Last of Us, to the thought-provoking Papers, Please. All the GDCA winners and nominees took risks that paid off in brilliant gameplay and unforgettable moments,” said Meggan Scavio, General Manager of the Game Developers Conference. “It’s an amazing time for gaming, and we’re proud to recognize titles with mature narratives and innovative gameplay that are truly pushing the medium forward.”

It’s not just games that win awards at GDC though, several members of the gaming community were also recognized. The Ambassador Award, giving to those who help video games “advance to a better place,” went to Anita Sarkeesian, creator of Feminist Frequency, a video series that explores representations of women in gaming and pop culture.

This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award went to the “Father of PlayStation” Ken Kutaragi, and was presented on stage by PlayStation 4 lead architect Mark Cerny.

  • Best Downloadable Game - Papers, Please (Lucas Pope)
  • Best Narrative - The Last of Us (Naughty Dog/Sony)
  • Best Visual Art - BioShock Infinite (Irrational Games/2K Games)
  • Ambassador Award - Anita Sarkeesian
  • Best Technology - Grand Theft Auto V (Rockstar North/Rockstar Games)
  • Best Game Design - The Last of Us (Naughty Dog/Sony)
  • Best Handheld/Mobile Game - The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds (Nintendo EAD/Nintendo)
  • Best Audio - BioShock Infinite (Irrational Games/2K Games)
  • Pioneer Award - Brandon Beck and Marc Merrill of Riot Games
  • Best Debut - The Fullbright Company (Gone Home)
  • Innovation Award - Papers, Please (Lucas Pope)
  • Audience Choice Award - Kerbal Space Program (Squad)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award - Ken Kutaragi
  • Game of the Year - The Last of Us (Naughty Dog/Sony)
Matthew Bennett, Associate Editor
Matthew Bennett finally got his big break with EGM three years ago, following years of volunteer work for various sites. An ability to go many hours without sleep and a quick wit make him ideal for his role as associate editor at He often thinks back to the days when the very idea of this career seemed like nothing but an impossible dream. Follow him on Twitter @mattyjb89. Meet the rest of the crew.

Partner Pages


8840 Wilshire Blvd.,
Third Floor,
Beverly Hills, CA 90211

© 2014 EGM Media LLC. All rights reserved. Trademarks belong to their respective owners.
Website Interface © 2012 EGM Digital Media, LLC.