My Games
New Games
Top Games


  • 200
  • 200
  • 126
  • 200
  • 200
  • Images
  • Podcasts
  • Other
  • More
  • 3K

Nominations Open For 2012 Games Media Awards

Posted on May 28, 2012 AT 01:33pm

Nomination time has come around again for the 2012 Games Media Awards. The awards are returning with a vengeance and with a new category.

The Games Media Awards will take place on Thursday October 18th and returns to their previous venue – Vinopolis, Bankside in London. Up to 350 guests are expected to attend, at least 200 of those will be media. Supporting the event are Gold Partners Xbox, EA, PlayStation, Nintendo, OnLive, and Codemasters Racing. Hosting duties have fallen to winner of the Edinburgh Comedy Awards, Russell Kane.

Winners, as before, will be voted on by members of the media and industry PRs. This year, though, a new award has been introduced to reward overall excellence in games journalism. The Games Writer of the Year Award will be judged by an award-winning journalist and will recognize pure writing skills. All games journalists are invited to enter, no matter what venue the writing takes place in.

On top of the new award, other categories have been tweaked to give better recognition to individual writers. There is also an award for best use of social media.

Nominations have already begun and they continue until July 20th. To nominate yourself, a friend, or your favorite site, send an email to


The Categories:

Games Magazine
Games Website
Specialist Writer – Print
Specialist Writer – Online
National Newspaper – Writer
Mainstream Magazine – Writer
Games Video
Games Radio and Podcast
Games Blog
Rising Star
Coverage by a Mainstream Website
Top Tweeter
Games Media Legend
Games Writer of the Year



Amanda "Mandie" Marron is a US Navy Veteran, Gamer, Reader, Poet, Xbox Community Ambassador, Battlestar Galactica Aficionado, Wine Connoisseur, and all around geek. Follow me on Twitter: @Caprickah

Partner Pages


8840 Wilshire Blvd.,
Third Floor,
Beverly Hills, CA 90211

© 2015 EGM Media LLC. All rights reserved. Trademarks belong to their respective owners.
Website Interface © 2012 EGM Digital Media, LLC.